IFSU hosts Training for Cooperative Training Providers, 1st HEI in CAR to ink MOA with CDA

Ifugao State University (IFSU) through the Department of Extension and Training (DET) conducted a three-day Training of Trainers ( ToT ) Course to Accredited Training Providers from the Ifugao Federation of Cooperatives on September 20–22, 2023 at the IFSU Review Center, Lamut Campus. This, after IFSU signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Cooperative Development Authority (CDA), signifying a shared commitment to fostering a culture of excellence within cooperative communities and a more collaborative future for all stakeholders involved.

Notably, IFSU holds the record as the first Higher Education Institution (HEI) in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) to solidify a commitment of collaboration through a MOA with the CDA.

Leading the IFSU Training Management team, Dr. Marah Joy A. Nanglegan, Director for DET, delivered a comprehensive Overview of the Course. Dr. Nanglegan emphasized the pivotal role of trainers in the cooperative landscape, stating, "Through the development of trainers, cooperatives may ensure that their members have the knowledge and skills required for success. It aids in developing leadership abilities and fostering a sense of belonging among cooperative members.”

Participants included board of directors, general managers, and cooperative staff from various cooperatives such as the Kiangan Multipurpose Cooperative, Lagawe Multipurpose Cooperative, Ifugao Countryside Development Cooperative, Tam-an Banaue Multipurpose Cooperative, Hojap Multipurpose Cooperative, Piwong Multipurpose Cooperative, Kalanguya Agricultural Cooperative, Tabuk City Officials and Employees Cooperative, and City Coop and Enterprise Development Cooperative-Tabuk City.

In her speech, Dr. Marissa P. Bulong, Vice President for Research, Development, Extension, and Training, extended her wholehearted support and commitment to the training initiative. "We aim not only to teach but also to encourage individuals who can shape the future of cooperative excellence by learning, teaching, and sharing expertise," Dr. Bulong affirmed. She underscored IFSU's dedication to research, development, extension, and training as a catalyst for positive transformation within communities and beyond.

IFSU experts Riezelle Aguinaya I. Echanova, Dr. Nanglegan, Diana Mae D. Pimentel, and Karen A. Puguon, served as the Resource Speakers. The course consisted of four modules: Cooperative as a Tool for Development; Cooperative Training Skills and Techniques; Training for Cooperative Development; and Action Planning.